yasserbooley

Mama Booley’s Virtual Kitchen

In Uncategorized on November 16, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Peace and Blessings be with you.

 

It has been a while since my last post, too long says the little voice in my head! Well we all have this thing called life to engage with, and in the process we neglect certain things in favour of others. I have recently started studying Film at an incredible institute in Cape Town called SAE, and this only happened through a good friend emailing me about scholarships which consequently fell into my lap!

This post however, looking past the digression/excuse above is about streamlining, focussing, and using the resources at hand to try and make something from something. I don’t know how many of you have actually had the pleasure of sitting at my Ma’s large round table at our old house in Bo-Kaap? Well the penny finally dropped, and i realised that this incredible resource ( my Ma) is tremendously under publicized, and here i am referring specifically about her culinary skills!

The First Product!

The First Product !

 

I have taken it upon myself to market her products and with you help sell as many as possible! There is a face book group that is in the process of appearing soon, which we wish to use to market her chutney’s, sauces, and eventually pastries and meals!

The Dhanya (Coriander ) and Almond Chutney is a sweet tangy chutney, that is perfect for savory pastries and samoosa’s, though last night we had it with a potato mince bake!

The spice grinder I used for the label used to belong to my grandmother, so i am guessing its at least 50 years old, though it could easily be older.

And yes, “nobody beats Ma’s Chow”!

Please feel free to order, and I will arrange  pick up , delivery point! The chutney is going for R20.00.

 

Salaam,

Yasser

Leave a Reply

